VISIT OUR NEW SITE AT ORANGEMAG.CO

Humans of Sixth Street on Halloween

Story and photos by Selah Maya Zighelboim

Sixth Street fills with a colorful myriad of characters, faces painted with bright red scars or hidden behind Scream masks. During Halloween, we hide our identities underneath wigs and costumes, but behind each disguise is a human being. Inspired by photographer Brandon Stanton’s Humans of New York, these are the humans of Sixth Street on Halloween.

20141031_233400

“We dress up like this every year. It’s tradition. Isn’t Day of the Dead what Halloween is all about?”

IMG_3180

“I got more attention earlier when I wasn’t wearing leggings but then children started coming around so I figured I better put my genitalia away.”

20141031_225511

“The cost of a drum set is like a thousand frickin’ dollars I don’t have, and I can make a thousand frickin’ dollars playing on buckets.”

20141031_232335

“We like seeing all the costumes.”
“What’s the best costume you’ve seen?”
“Kevin’s. Everyone likes Kevin’s.”

20141031_230223

“I am judging all these people out here as sinners. I know because I was one. I am one.”

20141031_231005

“Can the photo be like a together thing?”

IMG_3183

“I stitched it myself. We just moved from Pennsylvania so I don’t have a sewing machine.”

IMG_3182

“The costume is about 45 pounds. It’s mostly in the back. I put in a lot of padding so it doesn’t hurt.”

Leave a Comment!

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

